Gratitude

This past week I was at the annual BC Human Resources conference.  This conference always has great speakers who leave me thinking and inspired.  The last speaker,  Dr Brene Brown, was no different.

I’ve written before about my challenge in focusing on the present instead of constantly looking ahead to the future and to what’s coming next.  Well, Dr. Brown’s session reinforced the value of appreciating the small and sometimes ordinary things in life. 

Here’s a few simple things in my life that I’m grateful for:

  • Drinking my morning latte on the way to work while listening to a great audio book (yes, audio books make me happy).

 

  • Lemon Lime Gu, at any point in time during a 30 km run.

  • Every single post workout endorphin rush.
  • Climbing into bed after a long day.
  • Anything and everything that Allison makes!

Dr. Brown said that appreciating the small things in life is where the real joy comes from.  Far too often, we’re looking for what’s next and move past the simple pleasures in life without fully appreciating them. 

So what do you take for granted?  Are you grateful for what you have?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment